

# **City of Albuquerque**

## **DRAFT Minutes**

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

### **2022 Redistricting Committee**

District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.) District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.) District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.) District 5: Steve Smothermon, Robert Aragon (Alt.) District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair), Rosendo Najar (Alt.) District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.) District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.) District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

5:30 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

Attendance:	District 1: Victor Segura								
	District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.) District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.)								
	District 5: Robert Aragon (Alt.)								
	District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair)								
	District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)								
	District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)								
	District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)								
	Excused:	District 1: Dan Aragon (Alt.)							
	District 5: Steve Smothermon,								
	District 6: Rosendo Najar (Alt.)								

The meeting is available via to watch YouTube: https://youtu.be/Gi3I0Uco BY

A. Approval of the June 8, 2022 meeting minutes (Cathryn McGill, 2:22)

#### A motion to approve the minutes was moved by Quezada and Second by Segura

For: All said AYE, no roll call per Chair

- B. Communications update (Julian Moya, 3:14)
- C. Committee discussion on any maps submitted via DistrictR in the written public comments (Cathryn McGill, 10:42)
- D. Public comment (11:09)
  - Use the "Raise your Hand" function in Zoom to indicate your interest in providing public comment
  - Public comment is limited to 2 minutes per speaker
  - To be promoted to panelist for public comment, please turn on your web camera and identify yourself with your first and last name.
- E. Committee discussion (Cathryn McGill, 1:00:29)
  - Research and Polling to lead the committee through a presentation, discussion and then rating of each map. (1:03:02)

• Discussion and Voting on map(s) for recommendation to the City Council (1:48:51)

#### City of Albuquerque - 2022 Redistricting Committee

Concept Ratings

	Member Representing										
Concept	District 1	District 2	District 3	District 4	District 5	District 6	District 7	District 8	District 9	Rating Total	Average Rating
Concept A	4	1	4	4	4	0	0	4	3	24	2.7
Concept D	2	2	4	0	0	4	0	0	4	16	1.8
Concept E	3	0	2	0	0	0	1	0	1	7	0.8
Citizen Map 1	0	1	2	4	0	0	0	3	3	13	1.4
Citizen Map 2	4	1	3	4	1	0	0	3	3	19	2.1
Citizen Map 3	1	1	2	2	0	0	1	1	1	9	1.0
Citizen Map 4	0	2	0	0	0	3	2	0	0	7	0.8
Citizen Map 5	0	4	0	2	2	0	4	0	0	12	1.3

Rating scale:

4 - Strongly recommend

3 - Recommend

2 - Neutral / mixed feelings 1 - Do not recommend

0 - Strongly do not recommend

#### A motion to send all 8 maps to City Council was moved by Romero, Second by Aragon (1:52:22)

For: Romero, Reynolds, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz

Against Segura, Quezada, Aragon, Pascoe (Passes 5-4)

F. Committee closing: 2 minutes closing comments per committee member (1:55:15)

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES: If you have a disability and require special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Council Office as soon as possible before the meeting date at 505-768-3100. Those in need of hearing assistance may call 711.